Mount Olive Now

English Español
April 16, 2024 5:24 pm

Mount Olive women’s lacrosse team receives academic award

MOUNT OLIVE — The University of Mount Olive women’s lacrosse program has earned Intercollegiate Women’s Lacrosse Coaches Association Academic Honor Squad for the fifth straight year.

Additionally, the Trojans featured nine student-athletes on the IWLCA Academic Honor Roll with Caroline Abbott, Ali Davis, Zoe Dougherty and Emery Kennedy garnering the accolade for the third time in their careers. Mount Olive featured five players that received the honor for a second consecutive year, including Margot Coomes, Talon Costigan, Meagan Maxwell, Morgan Paige and Peyton Youngblood. The Trojans featured the most student-athletes on the Academic Honor Roll in the Conference Carolinas.

To qualify for the IWLCA Academic Honor Roll, the student-athlete must be a junior, senior or graduate student and have earned a cumulative grade-point-average of 3.5 or greater. The organization honored 414 student-athletes from 61 different institutions.

Mount Olive was one of 288 schools recognized by the IWLCA as an Academic Honor Squad. In order to receive the team honor, a program must have posted a 3.2 GPA or higher for the academic year.

— From University of Mount Olive Athletics