Mount Olive Now

English Español
February 29, 2024 7:06 pm

WCPS honors Volunteers of the Year

WAYNE COUNTY — Recently, Wayne County Public Schools presented its 2022-23 Volunteer of the Year Award to Jan Cagle, a Dillard Middle School volunteer, during a district reception held at the WCPS Professional Development & Family Engagement Center.
Cagle has invested approximately 290 volunteer hours this school year supporting Dillard Middle students and staff in various ways. She created a “wish list” sheet for staff to complete when they have needs for specific classroom materials or personal hygiene products for students in need.
Using the “wish list,” she works with the school’s partner in education, St. Stephen’s Episcopal Church, to obtain items and then delivers them to staff with a smile and a positive attitude. Cagle also spends several hours creating motivational calendars and messages to encourage staff and creating special bulletin boards for students to help uplift and inspire them as they walk down the hallway.
It is especially worth noting that Cagle serves as a coordinator for a special weekly program called “Wonderful Outstanding Women,” or WOW, to help participating sixth grade girls develop leadership, decision making, relationship and academic skills to help them become effective leaders both inside and outside the classroom.
School leaders say the impact of this volunteer can be felt throughout the school. “Mrs. Cagle brings a smile to the faces of staff and students through her regular support, encouragement and kind words,” said DMS Principal Mario Re. “She spruces up the teacher breakroom and then leaves candy and special messages for staff. She also assists in the classroom, always jumping in to help in any situation to ensure the teachers can focus on the needs of their students. Through her work in the WOW program, she helps students build confidence, self-esteem and a focus on academic success.”
In addition to the WCPS Volunteer of the Year, the district also honored its 2022-2023 School-Level Volunteers of the Year. They include Phyllis Smith (Brogden Primary), Felipe Crespo (Carver Heights Elementary), Veronica Aycock (Charles B. Aycock High), Cagle (Dillard Middle), Bianca Ford (Eastern Wayne Elementary), Lindsey Duke and Cikeithia Williams (Eastern Wayne High), Laura Newsome (Fremont Elementary), Teresa English (Goldsboro High), Michelle Best (Grantham Elementary), Janice Ide (Greenwood Middle), Miranda Walker (Meadow Lane Elementary), Peggy Bell (North Drive Elementary), Teresa Lane and Casey Thompson (Northeast Elementary), Stephanie Francis (Northwest Elementary), Crystal Ernest (Norwayne Middle), Chancey Smith (Rosewood Elementary), Donald DeGarmo (Southern Wayne High), Lee and Ivey Heath (Spring Creek Elementary), Melissa Tillman (Spring Creek High), Ronda Hughes (Spring Creek Middle), Charmmaine Thompson (Tommy’s Road Elementary), Sabrina Noland (Wayne Middle/High Academy), Gloria Siler (Wayne Early/Middle College High School), Jennifer Katsenios (Wayne School of Technical Arts), and Dawn Anderson (Wayne School of Engineering
“School volunteers have a critical role in supporting our schools and touch countless student lives through their service,” said Executive Director of Community Engagement and Student and Family Support Ken Derksen. “We appreciate the opportunity to recognize those who go above and beyond, giving of their time and their talents, to help our schools provide the highest level experience for our students, staff and families.”
School volunteers serve in many ways. Some answer phones and support the front office. Others assist with campus beautification efforts, assist in classrooms, serve as hallway and lunchroom monitors, lead fund raising campaigns, serve as mentors and so much more. Parents or community members interested in becoming a school volunteer can learn more by visiting the district website at
— From the Wayne County Public Schools website