Mount Olive Now

English Español
May 27, 2024 8:24 am

Wayne Community College Association of Educational Office Professionals hands out honors

WCCAEOP Names Professionals of the Year, Installs New Officers
GOLDSBORO – The Wayne Community College Association of Educational Office Professionals (WCCAEOP) recognized its administrator and professional of the year and installed new officers at its annual luncheon.

Executive Director of the Foundation of WCC Emily Byrd was named Administrator of the Year for 2024.

Byrd was described by nominators as “a positive, caring, encouraging, committed and willing team player.” She has been a WCCAEOP member for 12 years and was honored for her leadership, commitment to student success, and support of the College.

Dental Administrative Assistant Denise Zakrzewski is the 2024 Educational Office Professional of the Year.

Zakrzewski’s nominator described her as “dependable, efficient, and unfailingly punctual,” as well as always projecting a warm attitude to students and coworkers. She serves as chair of the WCCAEOP Audit Committee and has been the district auditor for the association on the state level.

The 2024–2025 officers of WCCAEOP were installed at the luncheon and are as follows:
President: Krystle Anderson, computer based learning coordinator
Vice President: Bea Birdine, student activities office assistant
Secretary: Kelvin Coley, financial aid specialist
Treasurer: Denise Zakrzewski, dental administrative assistant

WCCAEOP is a member of the NCAEOP. The NCAEOP is a support organization for educational office personnel and administrators. It provides professional development opportunities, insurance, and scholarships to members as well as a legislative platform to promote input into all educational matters in the state.