Mount Olive Now

English Español
July 25, 2024 11:38 am

Wayne Community College honor society inducts 89 new members

GOLDSBORO — Wayne Community College’s Upsilon Chi chapter of the Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society held a ceremony to induct 89 new members on Tuesday, Nov. 14.

To become members of the international honor society, students must complete a minimum of 16 credit hours with a grade point average of 3.5 or higher. They must commit themselves to scholarship, leadership, service and fellowship to guide their academic journey.

“You are joining a distinguished fellowship of scholars that extends far beyond the boundaries of Wayne Community College,” WCC President Patty Pfeiffer told inductees.

Certain elements of the honor society were highlighted during the ceremony, like the torch of knowledge, the rose of blossoming intellect and the symbols on the Phi Theta Kappa key.

The inductees and their majors, listed by hometown, are

Micha Jones, Associate in Arts

Deep Run
Travis Barwick, Mechanical Engineering Technology

Julia Faulk, Associate in Arts;
Erick Lizama Alvarez, Associate in Arts;
Logan Person, Associate in Arts;
Linda Ponce, Associate in General Education – Nursing;
Geidi Sanchez, Associate in Arts;
Jodie Vance, Dental Hygiene;
Nalleli Vega Huerta, Medical Assisting; and
Cinthya Xivir Perez, Associate in Science

Elm City
Delaney Joyner, Dental Hygiene

Andrea Sabillon Garcia, Medical Office Administration

Jacob Shaver, Associate in Arts; and
Luke West, Associate in Arts

Asma Alrayshy, Associate in Arts;
Mary Anderson, Associate in Arts;
Rosa Anzurez Bernardo, Associate in Science;
McKenzie Benton, Associate in Arts;
Jamiere Bracey, IT Support Services;
Gabriella Carrasquillo, Associate in Arts;
Madison Cloud, Dental Hygiene;
Robert Doscher, Associate in Arts;
Ethan Douglas, Computer-Integrated Machining;
Chase Edmiston, Software Development;
Joshua Garner, Associate in Arts;
Paige Haines, Criminal Justice Technology / Forensic Science;
Harley Haley, Associate in Science;
Jasper Hill, Associate in Arts;
Zion Hobbs, Associate in Arts;
Christopher Hyde, Accounting and Finance;
Reagan Joyner, Associate in Arts;
Amani McCleallan, Criminal Justice Technology;
Tiffany Meagan, Early Childhood Education Licensure Transfer Track;
Ashley Mendoza-Fierros, Associate in Arts;
Brianna Mozingo, Associate in Arts;
Yahalom Nofech-Cohen, Cybersecurity;
Diana Ortiz, Business Administration Certificate;
Carl Outlaw, IT Support Services;
Mguadalupe Padilla-Rico, Associate in Arts;
Lauren Parker, Business Administration / Operations Management;
Destiny Pridgen, Associate in Arts;
Ayman Saleh, Associate in Arts;
Celia Sanchez Hernandez, Medical Assisting;
Kortney Scheuer, Early Childhood Education Career Track;
Anngaleana Scott, Associate in Arts;
Amber Shumate, Medical Assisting;
Annabelle Simmons, Associate in Arts;
Darlene Sparks, Accounting and Finance;
Antwon Stallings, Air Conditioning, Heating, and Refrigeration Technology;
Sarah Stevens, Associate in Arts;
Alyssandra Titus, Associate in Arts;
Michaela Vaughn, Associate in Science;
Shanora Wallace, Associate in Arts;
Anna Weeks, Business Administration;
Wesley Whaley, Teacher Preparation;
Kandis Whitley, Associate in Arts; and
Dominick Wormely, Associate in Arts

Chad Moore, Cybersecurity

Mallory Leblanc, Forest Management Technology

Sabryn Jackson, Cybersecurity

La Grange
Brianna Garon, Associate in General Education – Nursing; and
Lisset Ortiz-Arellano, Associate in Arts

Mount Olive
Lorin Darden, Early Childhood Education Non-Licensure Transfer Track

Jonathan Brickhouse, Collision Repair and Refinishing Technology;
Emma Britt, Associate in Arts;
Leah Chalupski, Criminal Justice Technology / Forensic Science;
April Cradick, Early Childhood Education Career Track;
Belle Daingerfield, Associate in Arts;
Emma Fumage, Associate in Arts;
Kennedi Howell, Associate in Arts;
Taylor McNair, Associate in Science;
Edith Pinon, Associate in Arts;
Hunter Stovall, Associate in Arts; and
Michael Webb, Forest Management Technology

Pine Hall
Dustin Neal, Criminal Justice Technology

Taima Alkanshli, Dental Hygiene

Seven Springs
Elijah Ammons, Mechanical Engineering Technology;
Amanda Johnson, Medical Office Administration;
Amilcar Lopez Escalante, Associate in Arts;
Gabriela Perez-Rubio, Associate in Arts;
Jahayra Perez-Velasquez, Associate in Arts; and
Ean Wade, Criminal Justice Technology

Madison Edwards, Applied Animal Science Technology; and
Sandra Rodriguez, Medical Laboratory Technology

Snow Hill
Lizeth Castaneda Camarena, Associate in Science; and
Veronica McCottler, Human Services Technology

Abby Edmundson, Associate in Arts; and
Jared Owens, Entertainment Technologies

Mariah Gurkin, Dental Hygiene

WCC alumnus Dwayne Jones, who graduated with the College’s first cohort of Smithfield Foods apprentices, was the ceremony’s guest speaker. He encouraged the inductees to value leadership in their education and future careers.

“You can put a group of people together at any place for any strategic plan, but unless someone comes to the forefront and leads that group, where are they actually going to go?” Jones asked.

He stated that leaders should be engaging and encouraging, attentive to individuals’ needs, decisive as they seek productivity, empowering, and resourceful in finding answers.

“You all have already shown that you are leaders,” Jones said. “Businesses and companies are looking for leaders, those who stand out from the crowd and not only come to the forefront but also take a group of people and lead them in a certain direction.”

Phi Theta Kappa provides inductees with lifelong membership and benefits such as scholarship opportunities.

“This induction marks the beginning of a transformative experience where our students not only receive acknowledgement for their achievements but also become part of a community dedicated to lifelong learning, a pursuit of higher ideals, and the realization of their fullest potential,” said Upsilon Chi Advisor Katie Holloman.