Mount Olive Now

English Español
April 16, 2024 4:03 pm

Wayne Community College presents 2023 Distinguished Chair Awards

WCC recognized two faculty members with 2023 Distinguished Chair Awards. With honorees Angie Blizzard (middle left) and Lynn Swafford (middle right) is WCC President Patricia Pfeiffer and Foundation of WCC Executive Director Emily Byrd.

GOLDSBORO — Two Wayne Community College faculty members have been honored with the college’s 20th set of “Distinguished Chair” awards.

Biology Instructor Angela Lynn Swafford and Dean of Public Safety Angie Blizzard each received a trophy and a monetary prize to use for travel or professional development.

The Distinguished Chair awards recognize outstanding full-time curriculum faculty members who have distinguished themselves at the college and in the community. The awards are made possible by an annual gift to the Foundation of Wayne Community College by an anonymous donor.

Swafford has been employed at WCC since 2016. Along with being a biology instructor, she is also the coordinator for WCC’s Honors program.

Her nomination for the award described her as an “extremely talented leader” who is kind, compassionate, and quick to volunteer, all while possessing an “enthusiastic dedication” to the college. It was also stated that she was integral in the planning and execution of WCC’s first and now annual Global Experience Honoring Your World event.

Vice President of Academic and Student Services Brandon Jenkins remarked that Swafford “works diligently behind the scenes to give our students first-class research and scholarly opportunities for our honors program. She is a true team player.”

Blizzard has been employed at WCC for more than 17 years. She dedicates her time and expertise with not only the college, but the community as well, being employed with the Wayne County Sheriff’s Office for 27 years.

Colleagues described Blizzard as approachable, always on call, quick to listen, and selfless – someone who “truly wants the very best for those around her.”

Jenkins added that Blizzard is “a true, no-nonsense professional” and is “well respected by those in her division, as well as faculty and staff across campus.”

The 38 past recipients are:

2004 – Peggy Womble and Beth Hooks
2005 – Cindy Archie and Gene Smith
2006 – Faye Best and Rosalyn Lomax
2007 – Kathryn Spicer and Rachel Hall
2008 – Margaret Baddour and Charlotte Brow
2009 – Craig Foucht and Phyllis Patterson
2010 – Todd King and Anna Anaya-Vega
2011 – Joanne McClave and Angela Wall
2012 – Tammy Bishop and Fe Finch
2013 – David Byrd and Janeil Marak
2014 – Maureen Loomer and Chad Pate
2015 – Katina Davis and Glenn Royster
2016 – Paul Compton and Duane Everhart
2017 – Angie Waller and Daniel Rollins
2018 – Dr. Ernie White and Jennifer Johnson
2019 – Billy Tart and LaRose Brock
2020 – Dr. Brandon Jenkins and Bill Reboli
2021 – Dr. Ryan Bradshaw and Missy Smiley
2022 – Steven Reese and Deniz Tuck

About The Foundation of WCC
The Foundation is a non-profit organization that works to promote and to broaden the base of community support for educational opportunities at Wayne Community College in Goldsboro. The Foundation assists students with scholarships, and funds innovative campus projects and employee recognition opportunities, and provides cultural activities for the community.
About WCC
Wayne Community College is a public, learning-centered institution with an open-door admission policy located in Goldsboro, N.C. As it works to develop a highly skilled and competitive workforce, the college serves around 11,000 individuals annually as well as businesses, industry, and community organizations with high quality, affordable, accessible learning opportunities, including more than 240 college credit programs. WCC’s mission is to meet the educational, training, and cultural needs of the communities it serves.