Mount Olive Now

English Español
March 3, 2024 10:35 pm

WCPS celebrates excellence through district awards

GOLDSBORO — Wayne County Public Schools held a Celebration of Excellence at Lane Tree Conference Center to present its top staff awards.

Eastern Wayne High Allied Health Sciences Teacher Amy Smith was recognized as this year’s WCPS CTE Teacher of the Year. “She adds rigor by making several of the classes ‘honors’ through the portfolio process while remaining a life-long learner to further motivate her students,” said EWH Principal John Waters. “Students in her classes earn several industry-recognized credentials in the Health Sciences pathways. Many of these students become CTE concentrators and continue in healthcare pathways after high school.”

Wayne School of Technical Arts counselor Christa Coates was recognized as this year’s WCPS School Counselor of the Year. “Mrs. Coates demonstrates dedication to her students, school staff and fellow school counselors through leadership at the school and district levels to ensure positive change for students in her school building and across the entire district,” said Jamie Livengood, WCPS student and family support coordinator. “She is helpful, hard working, compassionate and a cohesive member of the new Wayne School of Technical Arts and is a leader among her colleagues.”

Northeast Elementary Media Coordinator Stacy Hersey was recognized as this year’s WCPS Media Coordinator of the Year. “Mrs. Hersey has worked tirelessly to diversify her media collection with current, relevant, high-interest books that appeal to her student population. She has collaborated closely with teachers to provide resources and instructional support that meet individual learner needs. She has shared a multitude of technology resources and training opportunities that have enhanced core instruction,” said Robert Yancey, executive director of accountability/technology support services and program evaluation.

Wayne School of Engineering English Language Arts Teacher and Teacher Cadet Instructor Laura J. Taylor was named the 2023-2024 WCPS Teacher of the Year. “I am very fortunate to have access to a teacher leader,” said Dr. Gary Hales, Wayne School of Engineering principal. Mrs. Taylor is one I can rely on for advice and guidance, give honest opinions, has a wealth of knowledge, and is simply a natural leader. There is no one better to advance innovative programs and teaching methods. She is making an impact on local policies and programs and epitomizes excellence in teaching.”

Carver Elementary assistant principal Linda Brown-Rouse was named the 2023-2024 WCPS Assistant Principal of the Year. “I depend on my assistant principal daily. She has a positive relationship with our students, staff and parents,” said Karla Smith, Carver Elementary principal. “With a middle school background, Mrs. Brown-Rouse has brought a strong command for discipline and high expectations for all students.”

Wayne School of Engineering Principal Dr. Gary Hales was named the 2023-2024 WCPS Principal of the Year. “This principal believes in continuous improvement and the power of professional learning communities, “said Dr. Yvette Smith Mason, WCPS assistant superintendent for human resources and professional development. “Teachers meet daily to lesson tune, to plan, to analyze data, to reflect, and for professional development. This principal takes pride in knowing his students and parents by name and in the relationships he has built, both past and present.”

The district’s Teacher of the Year and the Principal of the Year are part of state and national awards programs. The CTE Teacher of the Year is part of the North Carolina Center for the Advancement of Teaching CTE Teacher of the Year program. The WCPS Assistant Principal of the Year, School Counselor of the Year and Media Coordinator of the Year are district-level awards programs which represent WCPS locally.

The WCPS Teacher of the Year, CTE Teacher of the Year and Principal of the Year will move on to a regional competition, which is the next stage in their respective state-level competitions.

— From the Wayne County Public Schools website